District Licensing Committee

Add to favourites

The District Licensing Committee for the Stratford and New Plymouth District was formed in December 2013. The list of Committee members is shared with the New Plymouth District Council.

The appointments are for five years with the ability to extend that for one further five year term.

Almost all applications for Manager's Certificates and Licences under the new Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012 will be approved by the Commissioner Chairman sitting alone as typically only a small number of applications ever attract objections. Where there are objections, a committee is formed consisting of the Commissioner Chairman and two of the list members, on rotation, to hear and decide on the application.

This new process for deciding on liquor applications started on 18 December 2013. All three district councils in Taranaki are currently developing Local Alcohol Policies. These will potentially allow a greater range of factors to be taken into account when considering Licence applications.

The District Licensing Committee list consists of:
District Mayor Neil Volzke, JP (Chairman)
Lynn Bublitz
Peter Coles
Channa Perry
John Rowe
Barrie Smith
Peter Stringer
Paul Walden
Glenn West